Home > Uncategorized > So why am I doing this?

So why am I doing this?

Last night I woke up, sat straight up in bed and began to worry.  It was 3:59 am.  The thoughts began – what am I doing? I’ve just abandoned my last vestiges of corporate work to dive fully into a career as a dance teacher, performer, and studio owner.  My thoughts began to spiral – money, future, expectation, and money again, and more money…. Sleep finally found me again after 5.

I woke up, had some coffee (well, a lot of coffee) and felt peaceful.  I know I am on the right path.  I know it deeply and strongly – I have conviction.  However, I sat down today to address those voices, and to be clear as to why I am devoting my life to dance – not just doing it, but also choosing to depend on it for my well-being and my income.

So what did I come up with?

Joy: Joy, happiness, pleasure, bliss.  Whatever you want to call it, I believe it can change the world.  Do whatever makes you happiest and see how not only you change, but how the world around you changes.  For me, to provide classes where we can be happy – to jump around, to be goofy and laugh is a calling.  I don’t think any of my students would be shy in telling you that I am a little goofy – and I think smiling never hurt anyone – just the opposite, in fact.

Self Fulfillment: I’ve always said that if I could dance, I don’t need to talk.  And I sure can talk. Dance feeds me. I use it to feel better, to work things out and as a form a release.  I believe that by allowing myself to dance, every day, I am a better person.  I also love to perform – it fulfills something in me.  At times, when people pay me to do it, I feel like the luckiest person in the world.

To Be Fair: Because whatever other jobs I have done in my life, no matter how lucrative, my heart wasn’t in it.  And I don’t think that’s fair.  Of course, at times, we have to work because we need money, or benefits, or security.  But I had an option, and doing this is the thing my heart is in.  It is the thing that I am willing to put it all on the line for, the things that no matter how many times I wake up late at night, I’ll keep doing.

And finally, I am doing this because my heart tells me to do it.

So why do you dance?

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Emily Stickney
    August 11, 2010 at 3:54 am

    u go girl

  2. Amy
    August 18, 2010 at 2:13 am

    I think, after some time, I have realized that I am driven to dance. I always assumed people driven to a form of expression would be aflame with passion, consumed almost. But that isn’t really my temperament, I’m more of a slow and steady person and I think that’s how I am driven. Not a headlong rush, not in a whirlwind or wave or spark, but the slow and steady climb that really doesn’t have an apex, since the journey is the thing.

    So proud of you for taking this big step!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

