Home > body image > Publicly Declaring a Truce

Publicly Declaring a Truce

This seems awfully personal, but today I am going to use this brand new-spankin’ blog to declare a truce.  A truce with my body.

While I can say, definitively, that I do love my body for what it can do – most of all for allowing me to dance, I can not definitively say that I always love the way my body looks or treat it with love.

So what’s a truce? According to good ol’ dictionary.com it is:

truce

/trus/ [troos] –noun

1. a suspension of hostilities for a specified period of time by mutual agreement of the warring parties; cease-fire; armistice.
2. an agreement or treaty establishing this.
3. a temporary respite, as from trouble or pain.
Alrighty. So I’m going with definition #1.  First off, I see that it is a “specified period of time.”  I’m going to go with 30 days.  Often when trying new things I give myself a “30 day free trial.”  Essentially a time to  try something on  – but not feel pressured that it is going to last forever.
So, what am I going to do for 30 days?  Well apparently I will suspend hostilities, hold a cease fire, and declare an armistice.
Therefore, for the next 30 days I will:
-Not say anything negative about my body. Period.  So no comments about what I’d like to get smaller, what I’d want to be bigger – who else I’d rather look like, etc. (this list can go on and on and on)
Instead, I will declare my love for my body often and loudly (well maybe not publicly and loudly)In fact, I’ll start right now….these are a few of the things I love about how my body looks: I’ve gotta start with the booty since we’ve had a very personal love/hate relationship.  But I love it, I love how it generates conversation, comments and looks.  I also love my eyes. But most of all, I love my heart, for pumping blood through me, for allowing me to live…and allowing me to love.
-NO getting mad at my body for not being able to do something.  I preach this all the time to my students and need to heed my own advice.  No frustration at not being able to lift a certain weight, do a certain move etc.
Instead, I will celebrate my accomplishments. Right here on this blog.  I’ll tell people about it.  I will feel proud of myself and encourage myself to go farther.  So again, let’s not hesitate – here is something I am proud of – this morning I rode my bike to downtown Asheville and back from my house.  I climbed Chicken Hill.  yay me!
-NO restriction of food.  I have lived a long life of dieting.  Yesterday I realized I went on my first diet at 13.  This means I am coming up on 20 years of restricting food to myself in some way or another.  And then rebelling by eating crap.  So no, this does not mean 30 days of cheetos and coke (ummm, gross).
Instead, I will fuel myself.  In our new truce my body and I are going to develop a strong love for one another.  I will treat it like all the other things I love.  I will give it fresh amazing food that will allow it to prosper, to allow us to prosper together.  And if my new roommate, who is a pastry chef brings home a homemade pear, peach chocolate tarte, yes I will eat a piece.
Finally, I will make a daily declaration of peace and love.  I will put my daisy in the barrel of my self hatred gun.
I love you body.
Categories: body image
  1. August 16, 2010 at 3:40 pm

    This is something I highly recommend doing: http://www.holisticwithhumor.com/ode-to-my-body.

    Love that body up!

  2. Torva
    August 16, 2010 at 3:44 pm

    Lisa,

    What a beautiful thing to declare for yourself. Truly inspiring to read! Enjoy the 30-days; I hope they lead to a lifetime of self-love.

  3. August 16, 2010 at 4:27 pm

    Lisa- this is excellent! Thank you for sharing this part of your self-experience with the world! I’m with you in spirit reminding you everday, for 30 days and beyond, to love that body girl! And I want to add that I’ve always admired the confidence you exude. And I admire you!
    love,
    dara

  4. August 16, 2010 at 5:46 pm

    I think you are gonna feel great! I hold the same struggle, (I am a woman, right!) and am currently in a truce. I know I love your body. In fact, Mazi holds your body in perfection and judges (I know, not acceptable, I’m trying to teach the “all Sizes” awareness) other female bodies accordingly, including mine. ❤

  5. August 16, 2010 at 6:57 pm

    This is wonderful, Lisa! It can be hard to declare *peace* when you are used to war. I know it wasn’t posted to receive compliments, but I do want to take the opportunity to point out to you that I think you have a wonderful body for its shapes, movements, skills, and most importantly because it houses you – and you are an amazing human being.

  6. August 16, 2010 at 11:29 pm

    I really, really, really love you all for your comments and who you are as women in the world. Thank you.

  7. Amy
    August 17, 2010 at 2:47 am

    Your post reminds me of this one Carolena wrote last month:

    http://fcbdblog.blogspot.com/2010/07/break-up.html

    I have to remember to stop getting in my body’s way! It can do a lot more than what I ask of it, I just have to get my mind out of the equation and let it roll.

  8. Gretchen
    August 17, 2010 at 8:50 pm

    Again, WOW. Thanks for the reminder to focus on the good stuff. It takes too much time and energy to be “at war” with oneself. That phrase is so accurate. How to stop?? Do what your doing. Look for the good, focus on the good, make that your personal habit and gift to yourself. Thank you for writing this.

  9. Kelly B.
    August 18, 2010 at 2:52 am

    Lisa ~ What an important goal for women in general. As a nursing student/CNA II/Nurse Extern I’ve seen people with low platelet counts, low white blood cell counts, debilitating contractures, diabetes, heart failure, sepsis, dementia, amputations, the list goes on and on. The fact that you are young, vibrant and healthy and are able to move your body with beauty, skill and grace is truly a blessing that you should celebrate each and every day, as should we all. Love and hugs to all of our amazing bodies 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

