Home > Uncategorized > Oh S**t! Did I say that outloud? or What is practice?

Oh S**t! Did I say that outloud? or What is practice?

umm what did I say I was going to do? pic by Blend Photography

ummmmmm, so a few days ago, I had just achieved a business goal I had set for myself and was ruminating on goals, the new year and where I’d like to see myself grow.

All good things.

Simultaneously, it was time for my monthly newsletter.  Full of fun tidbits of my dance practice and business — and I decided to add an article.  And I set a set a big ol’ dance goal for myself.  So I told everyone about it. And I sent it. And I posted it on the internet.

You can read the article here.

Umm, frack.  I just told the whole world I was going to practice everyday next year. What the hell, Lisa? There are times this year I went weeks without practicing.  I mean sure I was teaching and performing, but no dedicated time to my own dance practice.

So, with mild panic, I embrace this goal…I want to grow, I want to change, I want to always be a better dancer.

aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaand, I am going to track it all right here.

So time to set some rules – what is practice? How long does it have to be? Does listening to music count?

Here’s what I know:

It has to be at least 30 minutes. It  might be 10 minutes in the morning, 10 before class and 10 before bed – but I will practice at least 30 minutes a day. every day. next year.

Practice has to be about my dancing. Not choreographing for private students, not making a class plan….

I commit to (30×365) 10,950 minutes of practicing my art for myself.

But, I’m not sure about the other goals – what actually constitutes practice?

What do you think? How do you structure your practice?

Open to ideas as I start myself on this journey….hey, maybe I’ll even start early.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. SaraBeth Cullinan
    December 9, 2010 at 6:39 pm

    Yes, you said it; I heard it and I like it!

    As a work-at-home-Mom finding 30 minutes or more to practice can be one helluva challenge so the idea of breaking it down into 10 minute segments is also a fantastic idea.

    I plan to start early. This month, in fact, on my birthday. And I also plan on rewarding myself! I’m thinking every 30 or 45 days with things like manicures, pedicures, new practice clothes.

    How about you? Are you going to reward yourself?

    Thanks for the inspiration!

  2. SaraBeth Cullinan
    December 11, 2010 at 5:37 pm

    Yes, you said it; I heard it and I like it!

    As a work-at-home-Mom finding 30 minutes or more to practice can be one helluva challenge so the idea of breaking it down into 10 minute segments is also a fantastic idea.

    I plan to start early. This month, in fact, on my birthday. I also plan on rewarding myself! I’m thinking every 30 or 45 days with things like manicures, pedicures, new practice clothes.

    How about you? Are you going to reward yourself?

    Thanks for the inspiration!

  3. AJ
    December 14, 2010 at 2:57 am

    Tee hee, I’m here because I saw SaraBeth blog about your blog and I loved the idea! I’ve been wanting to dedicate myself more to practicing every day, but I couldn’t decide on how much I needed to practice. Half an hour seems like a good place to start!

    I think to count as practice for me, it has to have a physical element… so if I want to listen to new music at my computer and call it practice, I need to be doing some hand or arm isolations along with it. I think playing with zills, or walking around the house with a sword on my head also counts as practice.

    Now to go blog about my commitment, too!

  4. SaraBeth Cullinan
    December 14, 2010 at 7:04 pm

    Hey Lisa! It looks as if you may have started a movement here.

    I’m part of Ava’s dance troupe and a few of my troupe mates will be joining me in this.

    BTW, I have no idea why my original comment showed up twice. It’s kind of embarrassing. Makes me look like the tech-not geek that I really am. Any chance of removing one of them?

    Happy Dancing!

  5. December 14, 2010 at 8:39 pm

    SaraBeth – I’ll see if I can delete it.

    Come join the new blog! http://ayearofpractice.wordpress.com/

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

